Whole-house surge protectors help limit damaging voltage surges at your electrical panel, but the right choice depends on panel compatibility, installation type, and how much protection you want. I name the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE my best overall pick for its Type 2 format and weather-resistant enclosure; the SPD2ULTRA stands out for its stated 108,000-amp capacity, while the Siemens QSPD2A035B offers a panel-focused bolt-in design. The main tradeoffs are broad compatibility versus a panel-specific fit, and higher stated capacity versus simpler installation and value. Keep reading for the full breakdown and guidance on matching a device to your service panel.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- Eaton CHSPT2SURGE leads this roundup for buyers seeking a Type 2 device with a NEMA 4 enclosure, but it still needs a compatible installation plan.
- SPD2ULTRA and Furniqro FHSPD108S both claim 108,000 amps; that figure is a useful comparison point, not a substitute for checking certification, wiring instructions, and panel fit.
- Square D Homeline HOM2175SB and Eaton Type BR are panel-family choices, so compatibility matters more than choosing by brand name alone.
- ABB THOMESURGEP and Leviton R2120-B offer Type 1 configurations, which differ from the lineup’s many Type 2 options in placement and installation requirements.
- The products with similar stated capacities still differ in enclosure, mounting style, and intended panel pairing; those details can matter more to a homeowner than the headline amp rating.
| AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack | ![]() | Best for Type BR Panel Owners | Brand: AQOVOR | Model: BRLSP | Breaker type: Type BR | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 V | ![]() | Best Compact General-Purpose Pick | Brand: Furniqro | Model: FHSPD36S | Surge capacity: 36,000 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R | ![]() | Best Certified External-Mount Pick | Brand: ABB | Model: THOMESURGEP | Protection type: Type 1 SPD | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge Protective Panel, 120/240 VAC, 36 kA per Phase | ![]() | Best for Enclosure Protection and Status Monitoring | Brand: Leviton | Model: R2120-B | Protection type: Type 1 surge protective device | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Whole-Home Surge Protector, Type 2, NEMA 4, 120/240 V | ![]() | Best for Load-Side Type 2 Installation | Brand: Eaton | Model: CHSPT2SURGE | Protection type: Type 2 SPD | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Square D Schneider Electric HOM2175SB Homeline SurgeBreaker | ![]() | Best for Square D Homeline Panels | Model: HOM2175SB | Voltage: 120/240 V | System: Single-phase, 3-wire | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Type BR Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, Two-Pole | ![]() | Best for Type BR Panel Owners | Brand: Eaton | Model: BRNSURGE | Part number: BRSURGE | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Protector, 120/240V, 108,000A | ![]() | Best for High Stated Surge Capacity | Voltage: 120/240 V AC | Frequency: 60 Hz | Surge capacity: 108,000 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC | ![]() | Best for Indoor or Outdoor Mounting | Model: HSPD-80 | Type: Type 1 surge protective device | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack | ![]() | Best Multi-Unit Pack for Type BR Panels | Brand: Drizzlen | Model: ET003 | Part number: BRSURGE | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VAC | ![]() | Best for Flexible Installation | Type: Type 1 SPD | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | Surge capacity: Listed as up to 25/50/80 kA; model-specific rating not specified | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA BoltShield Indoor Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Compatible Siemens Panels | Model: QSPD2A035B | Surge current protection: 35 kA per phase | Voltage: 240 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Ultimate Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Added Cable and Telephone Protection Options | Type: Type 2 AC surge protective device | Voltage: 120/240 V | Surge protection: 108 kA per phase | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 Amps, 120/240V | ![]() | Best for a Clearly Stated High Maximum Rating | Model: FHSPD108S | Maximum current: 108,000 A | Voltage: 120/240 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 120/240V, 80 kA | ![]() | Best for Indoor Residential Load Centers | Electrical configuration: 1-phase, 3-wire | Voltage: 120/240 V | Maximum current: 80 kA | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| whole house surge protector | Model | Voltage | Installation |
|---|---|---|---|
| AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Cir | BRLSP | 120/240V | Panel mount, pigtail connection |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home S | FHSPD36S | 120/240 V | — |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur | THOMESURGEP | 120/240 V and 120/208 V AC | — |
| Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge P | R2120-B | — | — |
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Whole-Home S | CHSPT2SURGE | — | Load side through a dedicated circuit breaker |
| Square D Schneider Electric HO | HOM2175SB | 120/240 V | Plug-on; requires 2 pole positions |
| Eaton Type BR Circuit Breaker | BRNSURGE | 240 V | — |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Pro | — | 120/240 V AC | Residential breaker panel; indoor or outdoor |
| Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Su | HSPD-80 | 120/240 VAC | Indoor or outdoor |
| Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C | ET003 | — | — |
| Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Su | HSPD-25 | 120/240 VAC | — |
| Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA BoltS | QSPD2A035B | 240 V | — |
| Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Ultimate Sur | — | 120/240 V | Indoor/outdoor; connects to load center |
| Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home | FHSPD108S | 120/240 V | Indoor or outdoor |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur | — | 120/240 V | Residential load center |
More Details on Our Top Picks
AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack
The AQOVOR is the most panel-specific choice in this group: its Type BR fit is aimed at compatible panels, and the three-device pack may suit buyers protecting multiple properties or keeping matching replacements on hand. It uses two branch circuit spaces and a pigtail connection, so it is not a compact external add-on like the ABB THOMESURGEP, which mounts outside the panel. That panel integration can make sense when a compatible installation is the priority, but it also narrows who can use it. The product data does not give a surge-current rating, so I would not rank it against the Furniqro FHSPD36S on capacity. Its one-year warranty is another limitation for buyers who want longer stated coverage.
Pros:- Designed for whole-panel surge protection in compatible Type BR panels
- Three devices included for multiple installations or spares
- Supports 120/240V systems
- Panel-mounted pigtail connection
Cons:- Requires two branch circuit spaces
- Pigtail connection calls for appropriate electrical installation knowledge
- Product data does not state surge-current capacity and lists a one-year warranty
Best for: Homeowners and electricians working with compatible Type BR panels who want three panel-mounted devices for multiple installations.
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Type BR panels, or buyers who need an external mount, a stated surge-current rating, or installation that avoids using two breaker spaces.
- Brand:AQOVOR
- Model:BRLSP
- Breaker type:Type BR
- Voltage:120/240V
- Poles:2
- Installation:Panel mount, pigtail connection
- Branch circuit spaces:2
- Pack quantity:3
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose the AQOVOR if you have a compatible Type BR panel and value a three-device pack more than a published capacity rating or external mounting.”
Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 V
The Furniqro FHSPD36S is a straightforward option for buyers seeking a compact, externally mounted whole-home device rather than a breaker-specific unit like the AQOVOR. Its stated 36,000 A capacity gives shoppers a comparison point that the AQOVOR’s listed specifications lack, and compatibility with load centers and breakers from various brands broadens its potential fit. Indoor or outdoor installation offers placement flexibility, while LED indicators provide a quick visual check of protection status. The tradeoff is that the product data does not specify a warranty, and it cautions that grounding problems or misuse can cause installation issues. I would favor the ABB THOMESURGEP for buyers who put more weight on its stated UL and ANSI certifications; the Furniqro is the simpler fit when compact mounting and a stated capacity are the main priorities.
Pros:- Compact wall-mounted design
- Stated surge capacity of 36,000 A
- Listed for indoor or outdoor installation
- LED indicators show protection status
Cons:- Warranty is listed as none
- Installation may be affected by grounding problems or misuse
- Product data gives limited detail about certifications and installation connections
Best for: Homeowners seeking a compact 120/240V surge protector with a stated 36,000 A capacity and flexible indoor or outdoor placement.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated warranty, detailed certification information, or a breaker-integrated device tailored to a specific panel family.
- Brand:Furniqro
- Model:FHSPD36S
- Surge capacity:36,000 A
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Frequency:60 Hz
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
- Poles:1
- Status indicator:LED
Our verdict“Pick the FHSPD36S for compact, flexible mounting and a stated capacity, but choose a more fully documented option if warranty and certification details matter most.”
ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R
The ABB THOMESURGEP earns its place through a more clearly documented Type 1 design and UL and ANSI certifications, a combination that separates it from the Furniqro FHSPD36S, whose supplied details list a capacity but no certification information. It mounts externally, so it does not consume breaker spaces, and its universal load-center compatibility makes it less panel-specific than the AQOVOR Type BR device. The stated 36 kA per phase rating and LED indicator give buyers useful capacity and status details. Its limits are practical: this is specified for US electrical systems, and it needs an appropriate external mounting location and connection. It also lists a 10 kA nominal discharge current, so shoppers comparing numbers should distinguish that figure from the higher per-phase surge-capacity rating.
Pros:- Type 1 surge protective device
- UL listed and ANSI certified
- External mounting avoids using breaker spaces
- Works with load centers from any brand and has an LED indicator
Cons:- Designed for US electrical systems and may need an adapter or converter elsewhere
- External mounting requires suitable space and electrical connections
- 10 kA nominal discharge current is distinct from its 36 kA-per-phase capacity and may complicate spec comparisons
Best for: Homeowners who want an externally mounted Type 1 device with stated certifications and compatibility across load-center brands.
Not ideal for: Buyers outside the specified US electrical systems, or those who prefer a breaker-integrated unit or need a compact device mounted within the panel.
- Brand:ABB
- Model:THOMESURGEP
- Protection type:Type 1 SPD
- Surge capacity:36 kA per phase
- Nominal discharge current:10 kA
- Voltage:120/240 V and 120/208 V AC
- Mounting:Wall mount, external mount
- Connection and status:Pigtail connection, LED indicator
- Certifications:UL listed and ANSI certified
Our verdict“Choose the ABB if certified Type 1 protection and external mounting matter more than a panel-integrated design.”
Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge Protective Panel, 120/240 VAC, 36 kA per Phase
The Leviton R2120-B is a strong fit for buyers who want a Type 1 residential SPD with a weather-resistant NEMA 4X enclosure and visible LED status monitoring. Its 36 kA-per-phase rating matches the ABB THOMESURGEP’s stated capacity, while the Leviton adds a thermally protected MOV design and a clearly listed UL 1449 listing. The ABB, by comparison, states universal load-center compatibility and both UL and ANSI certification; Leviton’s supplied data does not spell out that same compatibility claim. This unit also requires installation into the electrical service system, so it is not a plug-in solution or a way around electrical work. Its split-phase 120/240 VAC specification suits the stated residential application, but buyers seeking a breaker-space-free external device should compare mounting details carefully.
Pros:- Type 1 device rated at 36 kA per phase
- NEMA 4X-rated enclosure
- Thermally protected MOV design
- LED status monitoring and UL 1449 listing
Cons:- Requires installation into an electrical service system
- Product data does not state universal load-center compatibility
- Specified for 120/240 VAC split-phase systems
Best for: Homeowners seeking a Type 1 residential surge device with a NEMA 4X enclosure, thermal MOV protection, and LED status monitoring.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a plug-in product, want installation without electrical service work, or require clearly stated compatibility across all load-center brands.
- Brand:Leviton
- Model:R2120-B
- Protection type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage and phase:120/240 VAC, split phase
- Surge current capacity:18 kA per mode / 36 kA per phase
- Nominal discharge current:10 kA
- Enclosure:NEMA 4X-rated plastic
- Monitoring:LED status monitoring
- Listing:UL 1449
Our verdict“The R2120-B suits residential buyers who prioritize a NEMA 4X enclosure and monitored Type 1 protection over an easier, plug-in installation.”
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Whole-Home Surge Protector, Type 2, NEMA 4, 120/240 V
The Eaton CHSPT2SURGE is the lineup’s clearly defined Type 2, load-side option: it must connect through a dedicated circuit breaker, unlike the Type 1 ABB THOMESURGEP and Leviton R2120-B. That distinction makes this a fit for buyers whose installation plan calls for a load-center connection and a suitable breaker, not for shoppers assuming every whole-home SPD mounts the same way. Eaton lists compatibility with load centers from any manufacturer, a NEMA 4 enclosure, quick-connect design, and an LED status indicator. Its stated 22 kA surge-current capacity is lower than the 36 kA-per-phase figures listed for the ABB and Leviton, though the Eaton data also reports 36 kA per phase across specified paths. Because these figures describe different measures, compare the rating definitions rather than treating them as interchangeable.
Pros:- Compatible with load centers from any manufacturer
- Quick-connect design intended to simplify mounting
- LED status indicator
- NEMA 4 enclosure
Cons:- Must be installed on the load side through a dedicated circuit breaker
- Installation should follow NEC guidelines
- Product lists multiple surge-current figures that require careful comparison
Best for: Homeowners with a suitable load center and dedicated breaker who want a Type 2 device with a quick-connect design and LED status indicator.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a Type 1 device, those without room for a dedicated breaker, or anyone unwilling to follow load-side installation requirements and NEC guidelines.
- Brand:Eaton
- Model:CHSPT2SURGE
- Protection type:Type 2 SPD
- Voltage and phase:120/240 VAC, single phase
- Enclosure:NEMA 4
- Nominal discharge current:5 kA
- Surge-current capacity:22 kA; 36 kA per phase as listed across specified paths
- Installation:Load side through a dedicated circuit breaker
- Status indicator:LED
Our verdict“Choose the Eaton when your panel supports a dedicated load-side breaker and you specifically want a Type 2 whole-home SPD.”
Square D Schneider Electric HOM2175SB Homeline SurgeBreaker
The HOM2175SB is a panel-specific choice for owners of Square D Homeline load centers who want a compact, plug-on surge device rather than a separately mounted whole-home unit. Its 25 kA surge rating and LED status indicator give buyers a clear capacity figure and a quick visual status check. Compared with the Eaton Type BR device, this is explicitly specified for 120/240V single-phase, three-wire service and includes a stated UL listing; the Eaton listing provides fewer protection details. The tradeoff is compatibility: this unit is designed for Homeline panels, not a universal fit. It also occupies two pole positions and is described as secondary protection, so buyers seeking a broadly compatible, externally mounted Type 1 device such as the Gloyatin HSPD-80 should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Designed specifically for Square D Homeline load centers.
- Plug-on installation uses two pole positions.
- 25 kA surge rating with an LED status indicator.
- UL listed to UL 1449 3rd Edition.
Cons:- Panel-specific fit limits use with other load-center brands.
- Uses two panel positions that may be needed for branch circuits.
- Described as secondary protection rather than protection at each individual device.
Best for: Homeowners with a Square D Homeline load center who want a compact, plug-on surge device and an LED status indicator.
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Homeline panels or buyers seeking a standalone, broadly compatible Type 1 whole-home unit.
- Model:HOM2175SB
- Voltage:120/240 V
- System:Single-phase, 3-wire
- Surge capacity:25 kA
- SCCR:22.5 kA
- Installation:Plug-on; requires 2 pole positions
- Listing:UL 1449 3rd Edition
- Dimensions:2.58 × 2 × 3.13 in
Our verdict“Choose this if you have a Homeline panel and want a compact, listed plug-on option; skip it if your panel is another brand.”
Eaton Type BR Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, Two-Pole
This Eaton Type BR device is a straightforward panel-mounted option for buyers whose existing equipment uses the Type BR format. Its two-pole design and 240-volt rating make it a panel-level alternative to standalone wall-mounted units such as the Gloyatin HSPD-80, but the supplied specifications say much less about its surge performance. The listed 18 kA current rating is below the 25 kA stated for the Square D HOM2175SB, while the Square D model also specifies its system configuration and UL listing. Eaton’s main advantage here is a clear Type BR identity, not a broad feature set. I would choose it when panel compatibility is the deciding factor, but buyers comparing protection capacity, status monitoring, or environmental ratings should seek clearer specifications before committing.
Pros:- Two-pole format for panel mounting.
- Specifically identified as an Eaton Type BR device.
- 240-volt rating is stated.
- Lightweight unit at 5.6 ounces.
Cons:- Listed 18 kA current rating is lower than the Square D HOM2175SB’s stated 25 kA surge capacity.
- Provided information does not specify an indicator, warranty, or UL listing.
- Limited published detail makes direct protection comparisons difficult.
Best for: Homeowners with an Eaton Type BR panel who want a two-pole panel-mounted surge device and can confirm compatibility with their panel.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly documented surge rating, status indicator, or installation and environmental details before choosing.
- Brand:Eaton
- Model:BRNSURGE
- Part number:BRSURGE
- Poles:2
- Voltage:240 V
- Mounting:Panel mount
- Weight:5.6 oz
Our verdict“Consider this for a compatible Type BR panel, but choose a better-documented model if surge capacity and monitoring features are priorities.”
SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Protector, 120/240V, 108,000A
The SPD2ULTRA stands out in this group for its 108,000 A stated surge capacity, the highest figure among these five products, along with a 10-year warranty and LED status indicator. That makes it a more feature-rich choice than the panel-specific Square D HOM2175SB, whose listed capacity is 25 kA, and gives buyers more documented reassurance than the sparse Eaton Type BR listing. It is designed for residential breaker panels and is rated for indoor or outdoor installation, which allows more placement flexibility. That flexibility comes with a more involved install: the unit connects by multiple wires inside the panel and calls for a two-pole, 50 A breaker. Buyers should have a qualified installer confirm the panel setup and ratings rather than treating the large capacity figure as a substitute for fit and installation checks.
Pros:- 108,000 A stated surge capacity.
- LED indicator provides a visual status check.
- 10-year warranty is specified.
- Rated for indoor or outdoor installation.
Cons:- Installation requires wiring connections inside the breaker panel.
- A two-pole, 50 A breaker is recommended, which may affect panel fit and circuit planning.
- Its higher capacity figure does not remove the need to confirm compatibility and installation requirements.
Best for: Homeowners seeking a high stated surge-capacity unit with a warranty and status indicator, and who can arrange panel installation.
Not ideal for: DIY buyers who are not equipped to connect multiple conductors inside a breaker panel, or anyone whose panel cannot accommodate the recommended two-pole 50 A breaker.
- Voltage:120/240 V AC
- Frequency:60 Hz
- Surge capacity:108,000 A
- Maximum current:50 A
- Recommended breaker:2-pole, 50 A
- Installation:Residential breaker panel; indoor or outdoor
- Warranty:10 years
- Dimensions:2.2 × 3.62 × 5.11 in
Our verdict“Choose this for its high stated capacity, indicator, and warranty if your panel can support the recommended breaker and a qualified installer can fit it.”
Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC
The Gloyatin HSPD-80 is a wall-mounted Type 1 device for buyers who want a whole-home unit that is not tied to a particular panel brand. Its up to 80 kA capacity is below the SPD2ULTRA’s stated 108,000 A, but it is still a substantial published figure and the HSPD-80 is specified for indoor or outdoor use. The listing also says it works with circuit breakers from any brand, giving it broader stated compatibility than the Square D HOM2175SB, which is designed for Homeline load centers. That flexibility does not make it a plug-in upgrade: it must be installed into the home’s electrical system, and the supplied data does not list a status indicator, warranty, or enclosure rating. I’d favor it when mounting flexibility and brand-independent breaker compatibility matter more than those missing details.
Pros:- Type 1 whole-home surge protective device.
- Up to 80 kA stated surge capacity.
- Specified for indoor or outdoor installation.
- Listed as compatible with circuit breakers from any brand.
Cons:- Requires installation in the home’s electrical system.
- No status indicator or warranty is specified in the supplied data.
- No enclosure rating is provided, despite indoor/outdoor installation claims.
Best for: Homeowners who want a Type 1 whole-home device for indoor or outdoor mounting and need compatibility beyond one panel brand.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want plug-on installation, a documented status indicator, warranty, or a stated enclosure rating.
- Model:HSPD-80
- Type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity:Up to 80 kA
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Poles:2
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Breaker compatibility:Listed as compatible with circuit breakers from any brand
Our verdict“Pick the HSPD-80 if you need a brand-flexible Type 1 unit for indoor or outdoor placement and can arrange electrical installation.”
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack
The Drizzlen package is the only three-unit option in this batch, making it a distinctive pick for buyers planning multiple compatible panel installations or seeking spare units. Each device is a Type BR, two-pole panel-mount surge protector with an 18 kA rating; that figure matches the Eaton Type BR device listed here, while the Square D HOM2175SB specifies 25 kA. The pack format is useful only if the units suit the intended panels and installation plan, though: it does not make one device stronger, and each uses two branch-circuit spaces. The supplied data does not state a warranty, indicator, or detailed voltage rating, so this is less fully documented than the SPD2ULTRA. I’d choose it for the quantity and Type BR format, not for buyers who need extensive performance details or a single, space-saving installation.
Pros:- Three units included for multiple installations or spares.
- Type BR format is specified.
- Two-pole panel-mount design.
- 18 kA surge current rating is stated.
Cons:- Each unit uses two branch-circuit spaces.
- 18 kA is below the Square D HOM2175SB’s stated 25 kA surge capacity.
- Supplied specifications do not state a warranty, status indicator, or voltage rating.
Best for: Owners or electricians with multiple compatible Type BR panels who want three panel-mount devices in one package.
Not ideal for: Homeowners needing only one surge device, short on two branch-circuit spaces, or seeking a warranty and indicator details.
- Brand:Drizzlen
- Model:ET003
- Part number:BRSURGE
- Pack quantity:3
- Circuit breaker type:Standard; Type BR format
- Mounting:Panel mount
- Poles:2
- Branch-circuit spaces:2 per unit
Our verdict“Choose this pack when you need three compatible Type BR devices and have the panel space; for a single installation, a one-unit option may be a better fit.”
Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VAC
The Gloyatin HSPD-25 is a Type 1 device for buyers who want indoor or outdoor placement and broad breaker-brand compatibility. That flexibility sets it apart from the Siemens QSPD2A035B, which plugs into compatible Siemens load centers only. Its compact, two-pole format is aimed at whole-home coverage rather than protecting one appliance through a plug-in strip. The key uncertainty is its advertised 25/50/80 kA range: the supplied specifications do not say which capacity applies to this model, so I would not compare its surge rating directly with the Furniqro FHSPD108S’s stated 108,000-amp maximum. It also requires wall mounting and work on the electrical system, making it a better fit for an electrician-led installation than a simple DIY upgrade.
Pros:- Type 1 design intended for whole-home surge protection
- Indoor or outdoor installation options
- Described as compatible with circuit breakers from any brand
- Compact, two-pole wall-mounted format
Cons:- The 25/50/80 kA capacity range does not identify the rating for this model
- Requires wall mounting and electrical-system installation
- The supplied information does not specify enclosure rating or status indicators
Best for: Homeowners seeking a Type 1 device with indoor or outdoor placement options and a breaker brand that is not limited to one manufacturer.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly stated surge-capacity rating or want a plug-in device for a compatible panel.
- Type:Type 1 SPD
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity:Listed as up to 25/50/80 kA; model-specific rating not specified
- Poles:2
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
- Model:HSPD-25
Our verdict“Choose the HSPD-25 if installation flexibility and broad breaker compatibility matter more than having a precisely stated surge rating.”
Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA BoltShield Indoor Surge Protective Device
The Siemens QSPD2A035B is the most straightforward panel-specific choice here: its compact plug-in format is designed for compatible Siemens load centers, and mechanical indicators show protection status. That makes it easier to place than the wall-mounted Gloyatin HSPD-25, but the tradeoff is a firm brand limitation; it is not the flexible pick for a home with another manufacturer’s panel. Its stated 35 kA per phase rating gives buyers a clearer number than the Gloyatin’s unspecific capacity range, though it is below the Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA’s stated 108 kA per phase. The indicators are mechanical rather than LED, and this is an indoor device, so it suits a compatible panel location rather than an exposed installation.
Pros:- Plug-in design for compatible Siemens load centers
- 35 kA per-phase rating is clearly stated
- Mechanical indicators show protection status
- Compact size and low weight
Cons:- Designed for Siemens load centers, limiting panel compatibility
- Indoor use only, according to the supplied description
- Mechanical indicators are not LED status lights
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Siemens load center who want a compact, panel-mounted device and a visible mechanical status indicator.
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Siemens panels, or buyers who need an indoor/outdoor device or a higher stated per-phase surge rating.
- Model:QSPD2A035B
- Surge current protection:35 kA per phase
- Voltage:240 V
- Poles:2
- Mounting:Plug-in
- Dimensions:2 × 2.6 × 3 in
- Weight:6.4 oz
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the QSPD2A035B when you have a compatible Siemens panel and prefer a compact plug-in device over a brand-agnostic wall-mounted unit.”
Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Ultimate Surge Protective Device
The Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA stands out for its quick-connect provision for telephone and cable protection modules, an option that distinguishes it from the primarily AC-focused Square D HEPD80. It also connects to load centers from any manufacturer and lists 108 kA per phase, giving it a stronger stated capacity than the Siemens QSPD2A035B’s 35 kA per phase. LED status indication makes its protection condition easier to check at a glance. The catch is that this is still a load-center-connected Type 2 device, not a plug-in protector, and the supplied details do not confirm that the telephone and cable modules come in the box. I’d choose it for a system where those connection options matter, but verify module contents before planning around them.
Pros:- 108 kA per-phase surge protection is stated
- Connects to load centers from any manufacturer
- LED status indication
- Quick-connect design supports telephone and cable protection modules
Cons:- Requires connection to a load center
- Telephone and cable protection modules are not specified as included
- The supplied data does not state a warranty
Best for: Homeowners seeking a brand-agnostic Type 2 load-center device with LED status and the option to add telephone and cable protection modules.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a self-contained plug-in unit or expect telephone and cable protection modules to be included without confirmation.
- Type:Type 2 AC surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Surge protection:108 kA per phase
- Installation:Indoor/outdoor; connects to load center
- Dimensions:2.38 × 5.25 × 7.5 in
- Weight:8 oz
- Enclosure material:Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene
- Status indication:LED
Our verdict“Choose the CHSPT2ULTRA if you want a high stated per-phase rating, broad load-center compatibility, and add-on module options.”
Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 Amps, 120/240V
The Furniqro FHSPD108S gives buyers a clear maximum-current figure—108,000 amps—rather than the undefined 25/50/80 kA range listed for the Gloyatin HSPD-25. It also supports indoor or outdoor installation and is described as compatible with any brand of load center or circuit breaker, so it is less panel-specific than the Siemens QSPD2A035B. LED indicators provide a quick status check. Those benefits make it a useful comparison point for shoppers focused on stated capacity and installation flexibility, but the number should not be treated as directly equivalent to Eaton’s 108 kA per-phase rating: the supplied specifications use different rating descriptions. Installation still calls for electrical-system familiarity, and the product information flags grounding and improper-use concerns.
Pros:- Maximum current is stated as 108,000 A
- Compatible with load centers and circuit breakers from any brand
- Supports indoor or outdoor installation
- LED indicators show protection status
Cons:- The supplied rating is not identified as a per-phase figure
- Installation depends on correct grounding and electrical-system practices
- The product information calls for familiarity with surge-protector protocols
Best for: Homeowners comparing whole-home devices who want a stated 108,000-amp maximum, LED status, and indoor/outdoor installation options.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified per-phase rating, detailed installation documentation, or a simple plug-in solution.
- Model:FHSPD108S
- Maximum current:108,000 A
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Frequency:60 Hz
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Load-center compatibility:Described as compatible with any brand
- Status indication:LED
- Weight:0.46 kg
Our verdict“Consider the FHSPD108S if a stated 108,000-amp maximum and broad installation compatibility are priorities, while checking how its rating compares with alternatives.”
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 120/240V, 80 kA
The Square D HEPD80 is a compact residential load-center device with a clearly stated 80 kA maximum current and an LED indicator that signals when replacement is needed. It makes sense for homeowners who want panel-level coverage for hardwired appliances that cannot plug into a surge strip, while still using point-of-use strips for sensitive electronics. Compared with the Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA, it has a lower stated maximum and lacks the described telephone and cable module connections, but its straightforward indoor residential role may be all many installations need. It does require installation in the load center, and the product description specifically positions it alongside plug-in strips rather than as a replacement for them.
Pros:- 80 kA maximum current is stated
- LED indicator signals when replacement is needed
- Compact design for residential load centers
- Can help protect hardwired appliances that cannot use plug-in strips
Cons:- Requires installation in a residential load center
- Indoor use is recommended
- Designed to supplement rather than replace plug-in surge strips
Best for: Homeowners seeking an indoor, residential load-center protector with an 80 kA maximum and an LED replacement-status indicator.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need outdoor installation, avoid load-center work, or expect one device to replace plug-in protection for sensitive electronics.
- Electrical configuration:1-phase, 3-wire
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Maximum current:80 kA
- Recommended use:Indoor
- Weight:14.88 oz
- Enclosure material:Polycarbonate, rubber
- Status indication:LED
- Installation:Residential load center
Our verdict“Choose the HEPD80 for indoor residential panel protection if you are comfortable with load-center installation and will keep plug-in strips for individual electronics.”

How We Picked
I ranked these whole-house surge protectors by how clearly their specifications support a practical buying decision: stated voltage and capacity, Type 1 or Type 2 designation, enclosure rating, and whether the device is designed for a particular panel family or mounting method. I also weighed usability factors such as installation approach and the information a buyer needs to check before ordering. A high capacity claim alone did not automatically move a product to the top.
The ranking favors options with a clearer fit for common residential needs and a useful balance of protection format, housing, and installation context. Panel-specific devices can make sense when the homeowner has the matching panel, but they are less flexible than broadly mounted alternatives. Where product names or specs leave key details unclear, I treat that uncertainty as a buying drawback and advise confirming compatibility and applicable safety listings with the manufacturer or a licensed electrician.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Whole House Surge Protectors
Before choosing from this lineup, I would start with the electrical panel and installation location, then compare protection claims. These decisions can prevent a mismatch that no surge rating can fix.
Match the Device to Your Panel and Service
Check the panel’s manufacturer, model family, available breaker positions, and service voltage before selecting a surge device. A breaker-style unit designed for Eaton BR or Square D Homeline equipment may not fit another panel, even if the voltage appears suitable. Avoid assuming that a familiar brand name means universal compatibility; product families and breaker formats differ. If the device connects through a dedicated breaker, confirm the required breaker type and pole arrangement in its instructions. When panel labeling is incomplete or the installation space is tight, have an electrician identify the panel before ordering.
Understand Type 1 and Type 2 Placement
Type 1 and Type 2 devices are not simply quality tiers; they describe installation categories and where a device may be connected in a service setup. Type 1 products can be installed on the supply side of the main overcurrent protection when the equipment and local rules allow it, while Type 2 units are generally installed on the load side. The exact permitted placement depends on the product listing, instructions, and electrical code requirements. Do not choose a Type 1 device just because the label sounds more protective, or assume a Type 2 unit can be placed anywhere in the panel. Ask a qualified electrician to confirm the correct configuration for your service.
Read Surge Ratings Alongside the Other Specifications
A stated surge-current capacity, such as 25 kA, 36 kA, 80 kA, or 108,000 amps, can help compare products, but it does not tell the whole story. Check whether the figure is specified per phase, per mode, or as a total, since manufacturers may present ratings differently. Also review the voltage protection rating, short-circuit current rating, certification details, and warranty terms where available. A larger headline number does not make an incompatible or poorly documented device the safer choice. Compare like with like, and ask the manufacturer to clarify any rating that is not defined in the product documentation.
Choose an Enclosure for the Installation Location
Enclosure ratings matter when the device will be mounted outside or in a damp, dusty, or exposed area. A NEMA 3R or NEMA 4 housing can support different environmental conditions, so match the rating to the actual location and follow the installation manual. Indoor-only or panel-mounted equipment may not need the same housing as a device installed outdoors near the meter. Do not treat a higher enclosure number as a measure of surge performance; it describes environmental protection, not the amount of surge energy handled. If the mounting location is uncertain, ask the installer to recommend a suitable enclosure before purchase.
Decide Whether Panel-Specific Convenience Is Worth It
Panel-family devices can provide a compact, integrated fit and may be easier to identify when the home already uses the matching equipment. Their tradeoff is reduced flexibility: moving the device to a different panel or replacing the panel later can complicate reuse. A separately mounted protector may suit a broader range of layouts, but it can require more wiring space and an appropriate conduit route. Multi-unit packs only make sense when the products’ compatibility and intended use are clear; do not assume a three-pack means three devices belong on one panel. Match the installation format to the electrician’s plan rather than buying on convenience alone.
Plan for Installation, Status Checks, and Replacement
Most whole-house surge protectors connect to a home’s electrical service, so installation is generally a job for a licensed electrician rather than a casual DIY project. Ask how the device indicates that it remains operational and what the manufacturer says about replacement after a major surge or end-of-life signal. Some models may have status lights or replaceable modules, while others require replacement of the full unit; verify those details in the documentation. Include labor, panel access, and any needed breaker or enclosure work in the total ownership decision without focusing only on the device itself. If a home has sensitive electronics or frequent outages, pair panel protection with suitable point-of-use protection rather than expecting one device to cover every need.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I install a whole-house surge protector myself?
I would not treat panel-connected surge protection as a routine DIY project. Installation may involve live service equipment, breaker compatibility, grounding, and code requirements, all of which affect safety and performance. A licensed electrician can verify the panel and choose the correct connection point for the specific device. Before buying, check whether the product’s instructions require a particular breaker or mounting arrangement. This can also prevent ordering a unit that will not fit the panel.
Should I choose a Type 1 or Type 2 surge protector?
The right type depends on the device’s permitted placement and your home’s electrical configuration, not a simple ranking of one type over the other. Type 1 models may be suitable on the supply side of service equipment when the product and code allow it; Type 2 units are commonly connected on the load side. A product’s instructions and listing determine where it can be installed. Ask an electrician to confirm which category suits your panel and service before choosing between options such as the ABB or Leviton Type 1 units and the Eaton Type 2 models. Avoid buying by type label alone.
Is a higher kA rating always better?
A higher stated surge-current rating can indicate greater capacity under the manufacturer’s specified test conditions, but it should not be the only selection measure. Rating formats may differ, and a per-phase value is not directly comparable to a total figure unless the documentation defines the numbers. Check the voltage protection rating, certification, panel compatibility, and warranty information as well. The 108,000-amp claims on the SPD2ULTRA and Furniqro FHSPD108S are worth comparing, but they do not settle which is the better fit. Have unclear or differently presented ratings confirmed by the manufacturer.
Do I still need plug-in surge strips if I install one at the panel?
A panel-mounted protector reduces surges entering through the electrical service, but it does not mean every outlet receives the same level of protection in every situation. Sensitive electronics may benefit from a listed point-of-use surge protector near the equipment, especially where long wiring runs or connected data lines are involved. Follow the instructions for both devices and avoid plugging one surge strip into another. The right combination depends on the equipment and home wiring, not just the panel device’s capacity. Ask an electrician about additional protection for items such as network equipment or home theater systems.
How do I know whether a surge protector is compatible with my panel?
Start with the panel’s label and model number, then compare them with the surge protector’s approved panel families, breaker requirements, and voltage. A Square D Homeline device, for example, should not be assumed to fit a different Square D family or another manufacturer’s panel. Check the installation manual rather than relying on the product title or a similar-looking breaker. If the panel label is missing, a qualified electrician can identify the equipment and available connection space. Confirm compatibility before ordering so installation does not require a return or a different device.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of residential practicality and enclosure protection, I recommend the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE as best overall. The Square D HOM2175SB is my best value-style choice for a homeowner with a compatible Homeline panel who wants a panel-family device, while buyers seeking a higher stated capacity can compare the SPD2ULTRA and Furniqro FHSPD108S after checking their ratings and listings. For a beginner, I would start with the panel model and have an electrician select the matching device rather than choosing by amp rating. For a specific panel fit, consider the Eaton BR or Square D Homeline options; for Type 1 placement or an exposed installation, compare the ABB, Leviton, and weather-rated Eaton models against the site requirements. The right choice is the one that matches the service, installation location, and verified panel compatibility—not simply the biggest number on the label.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















