AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

For most drivers, I’d start with the Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart: its 48-amp output and energy-management features make it a flexible all-around pick. The Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A stands out for buyers who want a higher-output hardwired unit, while the EVIQO 40A plug-in charger offers a simpler route when a compatible outlet is already available. The biggest tradeoffs are charging speed versus electrical-panel capacity, plug-in convenience versus hardwiring, and smart controls versus a simpler setup. Connector choice matters too, especially for NACS-equipped vehicles. Read on for the full breakdown of all 15 home EV chargers and the factors that should shape your choice.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
11
brands
3
connectors
5 years
max warranty
Which home EV charger should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger
Best Overall for Load Management
PowerSmart and the included Vue monitor balance charging with household electrical load
See on Amazon →
Owners with a suitable hardwired 240V circuit who want adjustable current up to 50A and outdoor-rated construction.
Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 5
Delivers up to 12kW with adjustable current from 6A to 50A
View on Amazon →
Drivers with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want a 40A J1772 charger with app scheduling and remote controls.
Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV
NEMA 14-50 plug avoids hardwiring when a suitable receptacle is already installed
View on Amazon →
Drivers in cold climates who want a hardwired 50A charger with a flexible 25-foot cable and multiple connectivity options.
Autel Home EV Charger
Up to 50A and 12kW output for high-capacity home charging
View on Amazon →
Owners with a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet who need a weather-rated, app-connected charger for outdoor parking.
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger
Plug-in NEMA 14-50 setup avoids hardwiring when the required outlet is available
View on Amazon →
Warranty — compared
Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger3 years
Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 53 years
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger3 years
EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS 3 years
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger3 years
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV C5 years
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E3 years
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger3 years
Grasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV 3 years
Pros & cons at a glance
Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger
✓ PowerSmart and the included Vue monitor balance charging with household electrical load
✗ A 240V supply and potentially professional electrical work are required
Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 5
✓ Delivers up to 12kW with adjustable current from 6A to 50A
✗ Hardwired installation rules out the plug-in convenience offered by the Leviton EV40P and EVIQO EVIPOWER-2
Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV
✓ NEMA 14-50 plug avoids hardwiring when a suitable receptacle is already installed
✗ Requires a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, so it is not a fit for every existing circuit
Autel Home EV Charger
✓ Up to 50A and 12kW output for high-capacity home charging
✗ Hardwired installation can require electrical work and is less flexible than the Emporia Pro
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger
✓ Plug-in NEMA 14-50 setup avoids hardwiring when the required outlet is available
✗ Requires a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet
EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS
✓ Native NACS connector works with compatible Tesla and other NACS vehicles.
✗ Requires a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet.
Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition Lev
✓ Four current settings accommodate different circuit capacities.
✗ Requires a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet.
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger
✓ Current adjusts from 6A to 40A for flexible power settings.
✗ Hardwired installation is required for the full 40A output.
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV C
✓ Up to 80A and 19.2 kW output offers more capacity than the 40A chargers in this batch.
✗ Full 80A output requires professional installation and a 100A circuit.
EVPOVO Level 2 Portable EV Cha
✓ Adjustable 16A, 20A, 24A, and 32A settings help match output to the circuit.
✗ 32A maximum output is lower than the 40A Grizzl-E and EVIQO chargers.
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E
✓ Adjustable output from 16A to 50A can be matched to the available circuit.
✗ Hardwired installation calls for an electrician rather than a simple outlet connection.
EVwallbox Level 2 EV Charger w
✓ 40A, 9.6 kW output is specified at up to 38 miles of range per hour.
✗ Requires a dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet, which may need professional installation.
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger
✓ Up to 48A and 46 miles of range per hour, depending on vehicle.
✗ Hardwired installation requires professional planning and is less convenient to relocate than a plug-in charger.
Grasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV
✓ App-adjustable current from 10A to 40A in 1A increments.
✗ Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, which may need professional installation.
Aimiler Level 2 EV Charger
✓ Portable design with adjustable output from 16A to 32A.
✗ 7.68 kW maximum output is lower than the 9.6 kW EVwallbox and Grasside chargers.

Key Takeaways

  • Emporia’s 48-amp PowerSmart model leads for flexibility: it combines higher output with energy-management features, while the standard Emporia 48A model is a simpler alternative.
  • Hardwired and plug-in chargers solve different installation problems: the Autel 50A hardwired models suit dedicated installations, while EVIQO, Grizzl-E, and other NEMA 14-50 models can fit an existing compatible outlet.
  • More amperage is only useful when the car and home wiring can support it: the 80A Autel is a specialized high-output choice, not an automatic upgrade for every household.
  • Connector compatibility changes the shortlist: most listed chargers use J1772, while the EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 uses NACS; verify the vehicle’s inlet and any adapter requirements before buying.
  • Lower-output models can be sensible for overnight charging: 32A options such as EVPOVO and Aimiler trade charging speed for a less demanding setup, while 40A and 48A units offer more headroom.
2
Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 5
Best for Adjustable High Output
1
Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger
Best Overall for Load Management
3
Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV
Best for Plug-In Simplicity

Our Top Best Home EV Chargers Picks

Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart, 48 Amp, J1772, 25-Foot CableEmporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart, 48 Amp, J1772, 25-Foot CableBest Overall for Load ManagementMaximum current: 48AInput voltage: 240VConnector: J1772VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A Level 2 EV ChargerAutel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A Level 2 EV ChargerBest for Adjustable High OutputMaximum current: 50AMaximum power: 12kWVoltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, Wi-Fi, WhiteLeviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, Wi-Fi, WhiteBest for Plug-In SimplicityMaximum current: 40AMaximum charging power: Up to 9.6kWInput voltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Autel Home EV Charger, 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2, 25-Foot CableAutel Home EV Charger, 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2, 25-Foot CableBest for Cold-Weather Cable FlexibilityMaximum current: 50AMaximum power: 12,000WConnector: J1772VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50Best Plug-In Outdoor OptionMaximum current: 40AInput voltage: 240VConnector: J1772VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS EV Charger, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 25 ft CableEVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS EV Charger, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 25 ft CableBest for NACS VehiclesMaximum amperage: 40 AInput: 240 V, NEMA 14-50 outletConnector: NACSVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition Level 2 40A EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 PlugGrizzl-E Avalanche Edition Level 2 40A EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 PlugBest for Adjustable, No-Frills ChargingVoltage: 240 VMaximum current: 40 AAdjustable current: 16 A, 24 A, 32 A, 40 AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, NEMA 14-50P, Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, NEMA 14-50P, Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)Best for J1772 App ControlAmperage: 40 A maximum; adjustable from 6 A to 40 APower: 9.6 kWVoltage: 240 VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 80A, Hardwired, J1772, Indoor/OutdoorAutel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 80A, Hardwired, J1772, Indoor/OutdoorBest for High-Capacity Home ChargingMaximum current: 80 AMaximum power: 19.2 kWInput voltage: 240 VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVPOVO Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 32 Amp, 7.68kW, J1772 Connector, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25ft Cable, WiFi App Control, ETL ListedEVPOVO Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 32 Amp, 7.68kW, J1772 Connector, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25ft Cable, WiFi App Control, ETL ListedBest Lower-Power Portable PickPower output: 7.68 kWAmperage: 32 A maximum; adjustable to 16 A, 20 A, 24 A, or 32 AVoltage: 240 VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, Hardwired, 50AChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, Hardwired, 50ABest for App Features and Established Charging ControlsConnector: J1772Installation: HardwiredAmperage: Adjustable 16–50AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVwallbox Level 2 EV Charger with J1772 Connector, 40 Amp, 9.6 kW, 25ft Cable, WiFi Smart App Control, RFID Card, NEMA 14-50 PlugEVwallbox Level 2 EV Charger with J1772 Connector, 40 Amp, 9.6 kW, 25ft Cable, WiFi Smart App Control, RFID Card, NEMA 14-50 PlugBest for Plug-In Convenience and Shared AccessConnector: SAE J1772Plug: NEMA 14-50Voltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A, 240V, J1772, Wi-Fi, 25 ft CableEmporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A, 240V, J1772, Wi-Fi, 25 ft CableBest for Faster Hardwired ChargingConnector: SAE J1772Installation: Hardwired with whipVoltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Grasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 PlugGrasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 PlugBest for Flexible Current AdjustmentConnector: SAE J1772Plug: NEMA 14-50PVoltage and maximum power: 240V; 9.6 kWVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Aimiler Level 2 EV Charger, 32A, 25 ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, J1772 ConnectorAimiler Level 2 EV Charger, 32A, 25 ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, J1772 ConnectorBest for Portable, Lower-Capacity ChargingConnector: J1772Plug type: NEMA 14-50Voltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
home EV chargerCable lengthConnectorConnectivityWarranty
Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger25 ftJ1772Wi-Fi and Bluetooth3 years
Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 525 ftJ1772Wi-Fi and Bluetooth3 years
Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV25 ftSAE J1772Wi-Fi—
Autel Home EV Charger25 ftJ1772Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet—
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger25 ftJ1772Wi-Fi, 2.4GHz3 years
EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS 25 ftNACS—3 years
Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition Lev24 ft———
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger25 ft—2.4 GHz Wi-Fi3 years
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV C25 ftSAE J1772—5 years
EVPOVO Level 2 Portable EV Cha25 ftJ17722.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Smart Life App—
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E23 ftJ1772—3 years
EVwallbox Level 2 EV Charger w25 ftSAE J1772Wi-Fi and smartphone app—
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger25 ftSAE J17722.4 GHz Wi-Fi3 years
Grasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV 25 ftSAE J17722.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth3 years
Aimiler Level 2 EV Charger25 ftJ1772Wi-Fi app controls—

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart, 48 Amp, J1772, 25-Foot Cable

    Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart, 48 Amp, J1772, 25-Foot Cable

    Best Overall for Load Management

    View Latest Price

    I rank the Emporia Pro first for households that want faster charging without treating the charger as an isolated appliance. Its included Vue Home Energy Monitor lets PowerSmart balance charging against household electrical demand, which can help owners make better use of existing electrical capacity. That gives it a different advantage from the Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A, which offers higher maximum output but requires hardwiring. Emporia can be installed with a NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired, so buyers have more installation flexibility, and its app adds scheduling and usage tracking. The tradeoff is that load balancing depends on the included monitor and a suitable electrical setup; this is not a simple low-voltage installation. It also tops out at 48A rather than the Autel’s 50A.

    Pros:
    • PowerSmart and the included Vue monitor balance charging with household electrical load
    • Supports both NEMA 14-50 plug-in and hardwired installation
    • App supports charging schedules and real-time usage tracking
    • 25-foot cable and weather-resistant design suit varied garage and outdoor layouts
    Cons:
    • A 240V supply and potentially professional electrical work are required
    • Load balancing depends on installing and setting up the included Vue monitor
    • Maximum output is 48A, below the 50A Autel options in this roundup

    Best for: Homeowners who want up to 48A charging, app scheduling, and household load balancing, especially where electrical capacity needs closer management.

    Not ideal for: Drivers seeking the highest listed output or a straightforward charger-only setup without adding a home energy monitor.

    • Maximum current:48A
    • Input voltage:240V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Installation:NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
    • Dimensions:3 × 8.25 × 12.25 in
    • Warranty:3 years
    • Certifications:Energy Star, NEMA, UL
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Emporia Pro if load balancing and flexible installation matter more to you than the highest available amperage.”
  2. Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A Level 2 EV Charger

    Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A Level 2 EV Charger

    Best for Adjustable High Output

    View Latest Price

    The Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A suits drivers who want high output with the option to set current as low as 6A. Its maximum 12kW output is higher than the 40A Leviton EV40P and EVIQO EVIPOWER-2, while adjustable amperage gives an installer room to match the charger to the circuit. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth add scheduling and session monitoring, and the NEMA 4X enclosure supports indoor or outdoor placement. The main compromise is installation: this unit is hardwired only, unlike the plug-in Leviton and EVIQO models, so setup calls for a suitable electrical connection and often an electrician. At 20.9 pounds, it also needs a secure mounting surface. Buyers who value plug-and-play flexibility should look elsewhere; those prioritizing output and weather protection have a stronger case for this Autel.

    Pros:
    • Delivers up to 12kW with adjustable current from 6A to 50A
    • NEMA 4X enclosure is suited to indoor or outdoor installation
    • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth support app-based scheduling and session monitoring
    • 25-foot cable provides reach across a range of parking layouts
    Cons:
    • Hardwired installation rules out the plug-in convenience offered by the Leviton EV40P and EVIQO EVIPOWER-2
    • 20.9-pound unit needs a secure mounting surface
    • J1772 connector may require an adapter for vehicles with a different inlet

    Best for: Owners with a suitable hardwired 240V circuit who want adjustable current up to 50A and outdoor-rated construction.

    Not ideal for: Renters or homeowners who need a plug-in charger, or anyone unable to provide a sturdy mount and hardwired electrical connection.

    • Maximum current:50A
    • Maximum power:12kW
    • Voltage:240V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Installation:Hardwired
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Pick this Autel if you have hardwired installation available and want adjustable charging current up to 50A.”
  3. Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, Wi-Fi, White

    Leviton EV40P Smart Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, Wi-Fi, White

    Best for Plug-In Simplicity

    View Latest Price

    The Leviton EV40P is a sensible choice for drivers who already have a NEMA 14-50 receptacle and want app controls without moving to a hardwired installation. Its 40A, 9.6kW output is below the Emporia Pro’s 48A and both 50A Autel chargers, but it remains a capable Level 2 option for routine home charging. The My Leviton app handles scheduling, monitoring, and start/stop control, while a 25-foot J1772 cable gives flexibility around the parking spot. Compared with the plug-in EVIQO EVIPOWER-2, Leviton is similarly focused on accessible setup, though the supplied information does not list EVIQO’s weather-protection rating for this model. The Leviton’s key limitation is dependence on a NEMA 14-50 outlet; Tesla owners also need a Leviton NACS adapter.

    Pros:
    • NEMA 14-50 plug avoids hardwiring when a suitable receptacle is already installed
    • My Leviton app supports monitoring, scheduling, and start/stop control
    • 25-foot SAE J1772 cable offers practical reach
    • Water-resistant enclosure supports indoor or outdoor installation
    Cons:
    • Requires a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, so it is not a fit for every existing circuit
    • 40A maximum output is lower than the Emporia Pro and 50A Autel chargers
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate Leviton NACS adapter

    Best for: Drivers with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want a 40A J1772 charger with app scheduling and remote controls.

    Not ideal for: Homeowners without a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, buyers seeking 48–50A output, or Tesla owners who do not want to source a separate adapter.

    • Maximum current:40A
    • Maximum charging power:Up to 9.6kW
    • Input voltage:240V
    • Connector:SAE J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50P
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi
    • Certifications:UL, Energy Star
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Leviton EV40P if you already have a NEMA 14-50 outlet and prefer a 40A plug-in charger with app controls.”
  4. Autel Home EV Charger, 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2, 25-Foot Cable

    Autel Home EV Charger, 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2, 25-Foot Cable

    Best for Cold-Weather Cable Flexibility

    View Latest Price

    This Autel Home EV Charger pairs 50A output with a cable designed to remain flexible in cold temperatures, a practical advantage for drivers who park outside or in an unheated garage. Its 12kW maximum power matches the other 50A Autel Wallbox in this roundup, but this model adds Ethernet alongside Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. That gives buyers another connection option for app scheduling and remote firmware updates. Compared with the Emporia Pro, it delivers a little more maximum current but gives up the Emporia’s plug-in installation choice and included load-monitoring system. This Autel is hardwired only, so the electrical work is part of the buying decision, not an optional extra. J1772 compatibility also means some vehicles may need an adapter. The 18.21-pound unit is lighter than the 50A AC Wallbox, but still requires secure mounting.

    Pros:
    • Up to 50A and 12kW output for high-capacity home charging
    • 25-foot cable is designed to remain flexible in cold weather
    • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and Ethernet provide several connection options
    • Weather-resistant construction supports indoor or outdoor installation
    Cons:
    • Hardwired installation can require electrical work and is less flexible than the Emporia Pro
    • No included home energy monitor or load-balancing feature is listed
    • J1772 may require an adapter for vehicles with a different inlet

    Best for: Drivers in cold climates who want a hardwired 50A charger with a flexible 25-foot cable and multiple connectivity options.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need plug-in installation, household load balancing, or a connector that works without an adapter with their vehicle.

    • Maximum current:50A
    • Maximum power:12,000W
    • Connector:J1772
    • Installation:Hardwired
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet
    • Dimensions:16.3 × 12.3 × 9.25 in
    • Weight:18.21 lb
    • Certification:CSA
    Our verdict
    “Choose this Autel if cold-weather cable handling and 50A output matter more than plug-in setup or built-in load management.”
  5. EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50

    EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50

    Best Plug-In Outdoor Option

    View Latest Price

    The EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 combines plug-in installation with a clearly specified outdoor enclosure, making it a strong fit for owners who want a 40A charger mounted outside. Its IP66 / NEMA 4 protection and 25-foot cable distinguish it from the Leviton EV40P, which also offers a NEMA 14-50 plug but lists only a water-resistant enclosure. The app adds scheduling, remote controls, and energy tracking, while the glow-in-the-dark holster can make the connector easier to find in low light. Like the Leviton, it delivers less maximum current than the 48A Emporia Pro or either 50A Autel. Installation also depends on a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet, and Wi-Fi features require a 2.4GHz network. Its 21-pound weight is another factor when planning the mounting location.

    Pros:
    • Plug-in NEMA 14-50 setup avoids hardwiring when the required outlet is available
    • IP66 / NEMA 4 protection suits indoor and outdoor mounting
    • App supports schedules, remote controls, and energy tracking
    • 25-foot cable and glow-in-the-dark holster aid everyday use
    Cons:
    • Requires a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet
    • Wi-Fi features require a 2.4GHz network
    • 40A output is lower than the Emporia Pro and 50A Autel models, and the unit weighs 21 pounds

    Best for: Owners with a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet who need a weather-rated, app-connected charger for outdoor parking.

    Not ideal for: Drivers seeking more than 40A, those without a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network, or buyers who need a lighter charger for a difficult mounting location.

    • Maximum current:40A
    • Input voltage:240V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi, 2.4GHz
    • Weather protection:IP66 / NEMA 4
    • Weight:21 lb
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Pick the EVIQO if you have the required outlet and want a 40A plug-in charger with specified outdoor protection and app-based energy tracking.”
  6. EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS EV Charger, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 25 ft Cable

    EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 Level 2 NACS EV Charger, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 25 ft Cable

    Best for NACS Vehicles

    View Latest Price

    The EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 is a strong fit for drivers who want a plug-in home charger with a native NACS connector, rather than relying on an adapter. Its 40A output and 25-foot cable suit many garage layouts, while app scheduling and energy tracking add useful control for owners who want to time charging. Compared with the J1772-based EVPOVO 32A, it offers more charging capacity, but EVPOVO has adjustable current settings and a lighter listed weight. EVIQO’s IP66/NEMA 4 housing supports indoor or outdoor installation, though the 2.4 GHz app connection may not suit homes with only 5 GHz Wi-Fi. It also needs a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet; J1772 drivers must buy an adapter separately.

    Pros:
    • Native NACS connector works with compatible Tesla and other NACS vehicles.
    • 40A output and 25-foot cable suit regular home charging and flexible parking positions.
    • IP66 and NEMA 4 weather resistance support indoor or outdoor placement.
    • App provides charging schedules, remote controls, and energy tracking.
    Cons:
    • Requires a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet.
    • J1772 adapter is not included.
    • App connectivity requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.

    Best for: Tesla and other NACS vehicle owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want app scheduling and a long cable.

    Not ideal for: J1772 vehicle owners who want an adapter included, or households without a dedicated 50A circuit and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    • Maximum amperage:40 A
    • Input:240 V, NEMA 14-50 outlet
    • Connector:NACS
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
    • Weather resistance:IP66, NEMA 4
    • Weight:19.81 lb
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the EVIPOWER-2 if your vehicle uses NACS and you want a weather-resistant, app-enabled plug-in charger without a separate vehicle-side adapter.”
  7. Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition Level 2 40A EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug

    Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition Level 2 40A EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug

    Best for Adjustable, No-Frills Charging

    View Latest Price

    The Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition prioritizes straightforward, adaptable charging over app features. Its selectable 16A, 24A, 32A, and 40A settings let owners match output to their circuit, which can be useful when a home’s electrical capacity differs from the charger’s maximum. Compared with the Wi-Fi-equipped EVIQO EVIPOWER-2, Grizzl-E gives up scheduling and energy tracking but offers broad North American EV and PHEV compatibility without relying on an app. Its 24-foot cable is close to EVIQO’s 25 feet, and the IP67 rating plus built-in GFCI and electrical protections make it a practical indoor or outdoor choice. The tradeoff is that it still needs a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet, and buyers seeking connected controls should look elsewhere.

    Pros:
    • Four current settings accommodate different circuit capacities.
    • IP67 water resistance supports indoor and outdoor use.
    • Built-in GFCI and multiple electrical and temperature protections.
    • Compatible with North American EVs and PHEVs.
    Cons:
    • Requires a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet.
    • No app connectivity or remote charging controls are listed.
    • Its 24-foot cable is slightly shorter than the 25-foot cables on several alternatives here.

    Best for: EV and PHEV owners who want a durable plug-in charger with adjustable output and no need for app-based controls.

    Not ideal for: Drivers who want charging schedules, energy tracking, remote controls, or a charger that does not depend on a NEMA 14-50 outlet.

    • Voltage:240 V
    • Maximum current:40 A
    • Adjustable current:16 A, 24 A, 32 A, 40 A
    • Power:10 kW
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50
    • Cable length:24 ft
    • Water resistance:IP67
    • Certifications:UL tested and certified; Energy Star certified
    Our verdict
    “Pick the Grizzl-E if adjustable current and weather-ready construction matter more to you than app features.”
  8. IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, NEMA 14-50P, Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)

    IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, NEMA 14-50P, Wi-Fi (2.4GHz)

    Best for J1772 App Control

    View Latest Price

    The IYILO Level 2 charger combines J1772 compatibility with app controls and a wide 6A-to-40A adjustment range. That range gives owners more flexibility than the fixed 40A maximum of the EVIQO EVIPOWER-2, while scheduled charging and power sharing add control for households managing charging around other electrical loads. Its 25-foot cable and NEMA 4 enclosure suit common garage and outdoor setups, and the listed ETL, Energy Star, UL 2594, and CSA credentials provide useful safety context. There is a key installation caveat: the product data says hardwiring is required for 40A, so buyers wanting full output should plan for a licensed electrician. Tesla drivers also need a separate NACS adapter, and app features require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    Pros:
    • Current adjusts from 6A to 40A for flexible power settings.
    • App supports scheduled charging and power sharing.
    • 25-foot cable and NEMA 4 weather protection suit varied home locations.
    • Listed with ETL, Energy Star, UL 2594, and CSA certifications.
    Cons:
    • Hardwired installation is required for the full 40A output.
    • Tesla compatibility requires a separate NACS adapter.
    • Wi-Fi features work on 2.4 GHz networks only.

    Best for: J1772 EV owners who want adjustable charging, scheduled app control, and the option to share power across charging needs.

    Not ideal for: Tesla drivers who want a native connector, or buyers expecting full 40A output from a simple plug-in setup without hardwiring.

    • Amperage:40 A maximum; adjustable from 6 A to 40 A
    • Power:9.6 kW
    • Voltage:240 V
    • Connector compatibility:J1772 EVs and PHEVs
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Certifications:ETL, Energy Star, UL 2594, CSA
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose IYILO if your J1772 vehicle and home setup can make use of adjustable output and app-based scheduling, including a hardwired installation for full power.”
  9. Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 80A, Hardwired, J1772, Indoor/Outdoor

    Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 80A, Hardwired, J1772, Indoor/Outdoor

    Best for High-Capacity Home Charging

    View Latest Price

    The Autel MaxiCharger 80A is the lineup’s high-capacity choice for homes equipped to support a large electrical load. At up to 19.2 kW, it can charge substantially faster than the 40A EVIQO and IYILO units, but reaching that output calls for professional hardwiring and a 100A circuit. That makes it a poor match for buyers who simply want to plug into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet. The 25-foot J1772 cable covers common parking layouts, while dual-network connectivity and remote app controls offer a more connected setup than the non-app Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition. Its five-year warranty, CSA/UL certification, and tamper-resistant features support a more permanent installation. Tesla owners will need a separate NACS adapter.

    Pros:
    • Up to 80A and 19.2 kW output offers more capacity than the 40A chargers in this batch.
    • Dual-network connectivity supports app-based scheduling and remote management.
    • 25-foot cable and indoor/outdoor design suit varied installation locations.
    • CSA/UL certification, tamper-resistant features, and a five-year warranty.
    Cons:
    • Full 80A output requires professional installation and a 100A circuit.
    • Hardwired installation lacks the portability of NEMA 14-50 models.
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate NACS adapter.

    Best for: Owners with a high-capacity electrical service who need fast home charging for a compatible J1772 vehicle and can arrange professional hardwiring.

    Not ideal for: Households seeking a portable or outlet-based charger, or homes that cannot support a dedicated 100A circuit.

    • Maximum current:80 A
    • Maximum power:19.2 kW
    • Input voltage:240 V
    • Connector:SAE J1772
    • Installation:Hardwired
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Certifications:CSA, UL
    • Warranty:5 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Autel MaxiCharger if your electrical system can support its 100A circuit and you want far more charging capacity than a standard 40A home unit.”
  10. EVPOVO Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 32 Amp, 7.68kW, J1772 Connector, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25ft Cable, WiFi App Control, ETL Listed

    EVPOVO Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 32 Amp, 7.68kW, J1772 Connector, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25ft Cable, WiFi App Control, ETL Listed

    Best Lower-Power Portable Pick

    View Latest Price

    The EVPOVO 32A is the more restrained portable option here: it gives up some output compared with the 40A Grizzl-E and EVIQO models in exchange for selectable current settings and app controls. Its 16A, 20A, 24A, and 32A settings help owners match charging to their circuit capacity, while the 25-foot cold-resistant cable can make an outdoor parking spot easier to reach. The J1772 connector suits many North American EVs and PHEVs, and its IP66 enclosure supports outdoor use. Compared with the Grizzl-E Avalanche Edition, EVPOVO adds Wi-Fi scheduling and status monitoring; Grizzl-E, however, offers a higher 40A ceiling and IP67 water resistance. EVPOVO still requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, and its app depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    Pros:
    • Adjustable 16A, 20A, 24A, and 32A settings help match output to the circuit.
    • 25-foot cold-resistant cable gives useful reach for indoor or outdoor parking.
    • App supports scheduling and charging-status monitoring.
    • IP66 enclosure and ETL-listed safety protections.
    Cons:
    • 32A maximum output is lower than the 40A Grizzl-E and EVIQO chargers.
    • Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, which may need to be installed.
    • App connectivity is limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    Best for: J1772 EV owners who want a portable NEMA 14-50 charger with adjustable output and app scheduling at up to 32A.

    Not ideal for: Drivers who need the faster charging capacity of a 40A or 80A unit, or homes without a NEMA 14-50 outlet.

    • Power output:7.68 kW
    • Amperage:32 A maximum; adjustable to 16 A, 20 A, 24 A, or 32 A
    • Voltage:240 V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug type:NEMA 14-50
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Smart Life App
    • Weather resistance:IP66
    Our verdict
    “Pick EVPOVO if you want a portable, adjustable J1772 charger with app controls and can accept a 32A ceiling.”
  11. ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, Hardwired, 50A

    ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, Hardwired, 50A

    Best for App Features and Established Charging Controls

    View Latest Price

    The ChargePoint HomeFlex suits drivers who want charging controls and usage information in a familiar app, alongside a long cable for reaching awkwardly placed parking spots. Its adjustable 16–50A current lets an electrician set output to match the home circuit, and it can deliver up to 37 miles of range per hour, depending on the vehicle. Compared with the plug-in EVwallbox FU-AM3-40, HomeFlex requires hardwiring but offers a higher maximum current; EVwallbox is easier to pair with an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet and adds a display and RFID access. HomeFlex’s 23-foot cable is shorter than the 25-foot leads on several alternatives, and some app functions need Wi-Fi. Tesla drivers also need an adapter, so this is a stronger fit for J1772 households ready for electrician-installed charging.

    Pros:
    • Adjustable output from 16A to 50A can be matched to the available circuit.
    • App provides charging controls, reminders, and charging data.
    • Cold-resistant 23-foot cable and indoor/outdoor installation support varied parking layouts.
    • UL-certified and ENERGY STAR certified.
    Cons:
    • Hardwired installation calls for an electrician rather than a simple outlet connection.
    • Some app features require Wi-Fi.
    • Tesla vehicles need a separate adapter, and the cable is shorter than several 25-foot alternatives.

    Best for: J1772 EV owners who want app-based controls and charging data, have a suitable installation location, and are arranging hardwiring.

    Not ideal for: Drivers who need a plug-in charger, want a 25-foot cable, or expect to charge a Tesla without buying an adapter.

    • Connector:J1772
    • Installation:Hardwired
    • Amperage:Adjustable 16–50A
    • Voltage:240V
    • Maximum output:Up to 37 miles of range per hour, depending on vehicle
    • Cable length:23 ft
    • Certifications:UL-certified, ENERGY STAR
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose HomeFlex if you want app controls and adjustable, higher-capacity hardwired charging for a J1772 EV.”
  12. EVwallbox Level 2 EV Charger with J1772 Connector, 40 Amp, 9.6 kW, 25ft Cable, WiFi Smart App Control, RFID Card, NEMA 14-50 Plug

    EVwallbox Level 2 EV Charger with J1772 Connector, 40 Amp, 9.6 kW, 25ft Cable, WiFi Smart App Control, RFID Card, NEMA 14-50 Plug

    Best for Plug-In Convenience and Shared Access

    View Latest Price

    The EVwallbox FU-AM3-40 combines a 40A plug-in setup with a screen, app controls, and RFID access, making it a useful choice when more than one person uses the charger. The RFID card offers a simple access method without relying solely on app-based control, while the 25-foot cable gives more parking flexibility than the ChargePoint HomeFlex’s 23-foot lead. Its NEMA 14-50 plug avoids hardwiring, but the home still needs a suitable dedicated outlet, which may require an electrician to install. Compared with the similarly plug-in Grasside 40A, EVwallbox adds a 4.3-inch display and RFID, while Grasside lists specific app-based current adjustment and a three-year warranty. EVwallbox’s product data does not state a warranty, and its 14.52-pound weight may make mounting less convenient.

    Pros:
    • 40A, 9.6 kW output is specified at up to 38 miles of range per hour.
    • 25-foot cable offers room for less direct parking arrangements.
    • Wi-Fi app provides scheduling and charging monitoring.
    • Screen and RFID card give users alternatives to app-only operation.
    Cons:
    • Requires a dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet, which may need professional installation.
    • At 14.52 pounds, it is heavier than some home charger options.
    • The supplied product information does not specify a warranty.

    Best for: Households with a dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet that want a screen and RFID access for multiple drivers.

    Not ideal for: Buyers without a 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet, or those who prioritize a stated warranty and lighter equipment.

    • Connector:SAE J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50
    • Voltage:240V
    • Current and output:40A; 9.6 kW
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Display:4.3-inch screen
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi and smartphone app
    • Certification:ETL certified
    Our verdict
    “Pick EVwallbox if you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet and want plug-in charging with both a display and RFID access.”
  13. Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A, 240V, J1772, Wi-Fi, 25 ft Cable

    Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A, 240V, J1772, Wi-Fi, 25 ft Cable

    Best for Faster Hardwired Charging

    View Latest Price

    For drivers who want more output than a typical 40A plug-in unit, the Emporia 48A offers up to 46 miles of range per hour, depending on vehicle and charging conditions. That higher capacity can shorten charging sessions when the car and home electrical setup can use it. Its 25-foot cable is longer than the ChargePoint HomeFlex’s 23-foot lead, and Wi-Fi adds energy monitoring and scheduled charging. The tradeoff is installation: this model is hardwired with a whip, so it is not a plug-in alternative to the EVwallbox FU-AM3-40 or Grasside 40A. Emporia’s J1772 connector works with compatible North American EVs, but Tesla and NACS drivers need an adapter. UL listing and ENERGY STAR certification add useful assurance, though the product still calls for professional installation planning.

    Pros:
    • Up to 48A and 46 miles of range per hour, depending on vehicle.
    • 25-foot cable reaches farther than the ChargePoint HomeFlex cable.
    • Wi-Fi supports energy monitoring and scheduled charging.
    • UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified.
    Cons:
    • Hardwired installation requires professional planning and is less convenient to relocate than a plug-in charger.
    • Tesla and NACS vehicles need a compatible adapter.
    • The available specifications do not state a circuit requirement.

    Best for: J1772 EV owners with a suitable electrical service who want higher-output charging and are prepared for hardwired installation.

    Not ideal for: Renters, drivers seeking a plug-in unit, or households that cannot support a 48A charger installation.

    • Connector:SAE J1772
    • Installation:Hardwired with whip
    • Voltage:240V
    • Current:48A
    • Charging speed:Up to 46 miles of range per hour
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Certifications:UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose Emporia if higher charging output matters more than plug-in flexibility and your home can support hardwiring.”
  14. Grasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug

    Grasside 40A Level 2 J1772 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50 Plug

    Best for Flexible Current Adjustment

    View Latest Price

    The Grasside 40A is a practical plug-in pick for drivers who want to tune charging current rather than leave the unit at one setting. Its app adjusts output from 10A to 40A in 1A increments, giving owners more control over charging schedules and power draw than the EVwallbox FU-AM3-40’s stated 40A rating alone. A 25-foot cable and IP65 weather protection suit garages and many outdoor setups, while Wi-Fi and Bluetooth provide two connection options. Like EVwallbox, Grasside needs a NEMA 14-50 outlet; neither avoids the cost or work of adding that outlet if the home lacks one. Grasside lists UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No. 280 safety standards and a three-year warranty, but Tesla drivers still need an adapter, and the 16.96-pound unit is relatively heavy.

    Pros:
    • App-adjustable current from 10A to 40A in 1A increments.
    • 25-foot cable and IP65 weather resistance support flexible placement.
    • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity, with scheduling and usage monitoring.
    • Three-year warranty and listed electrical safety standards.
    Cons:
    • Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, which may need professional installation.
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate J1772-to-NACS adapter.
    • At 16.96 pounds, it may be less convenient to handle during setup.

    Best for: J1772 EV or plug-in hybrid owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want fine-grained current adjustment and outdoor protection.

    Not ideal for: Tesla drivers without an adapter, homes without a NEMA 14-50 outlet, or buyers seeking a lighter charger.

    • Connector:SAE J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50P
    • Voltage and maximum power:240V; 9.6 kW
    • Maximum current:40A
    • Current adjustment:10A–40A in 1A increments
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
    • Weather resistance:IP65
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose Grasside if you want a plug-in 40A charger with detailed current adjustment and weather protection.”
  15. Aimiler Level 2 EV Charger, 32A, 25 ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, J1772 Connector

    Aimiler Level 2 EV Charger, 32A, 25 ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, J1772 Connector

    Best for Portable, Lower-Capacity Charging

    View Latest Price

    The Aimiler 32A is the portable, lower-output choice in this group: it delivers up to 7.68 kW, below the 9.6 kW EVwallbox FU-AM3-40 and Grasside 40A. That difference can mean longer charging sessions, but adjustable 16–32A output may suit owners who do not need the higher capacity or want a charger they can move. Its 25-foot cable, Wi-Fi app, display, scheduling, and leakage protection cover useful everyday functions. Unlike the fixed-installation Emporia 48A, Aimiler uses a NEMA 14-50 plug and is easier to relocate, though it cannot match Emporia’s maximum output. There are important limits: the 5-15P adapter is not included, the supplied information advises against direct sunlight or rainy-day exposure, and Tesla or some NACS vehicles need an adapter.

    Pros:
    • Portable design with adjustable output from 16A to 32A.
    • 25-foot cable provides useful reach around a parking area.
    • Wi-Fi app supports scheduling and charging-status tracking.
    • Display and built-in leakage protection add useful operating and safety features.
    Cons:
    • 7.68 kW maximum output is lower than the 9.6 kW EVwallbox and Grasside chargers.
    • The 5-15P adapter is not included and limits charging speed when using that connection.
    • Manufacturer advises against direct sunlight or rainy-day exposure; Tesla and some NACS vehicles need an adapter.

    Best for: J1772 EV and plug-in hybrid owners who want a movable 32A charger for a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet.

    Not ideal for: Drivers who need maximum charging output, require outdoor exposure in rain or direct sun, or expect a 5-15P adapter in the box.

    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug type:NEMA 14-50
    • Voltage:240V
    • Adjustable amperage:16–32A
    • Maximum charging power:7.68 kW
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi app controls
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    Our verdict
    “Pick Aimiler if portability and adjustable 32A charging matter more than the faster output and outdoor flexibility of 40A alternatives.”
best home EV chargers
What makes a great home EV charger
1
Match Charger Output to Your Vehicle and Panel
A charger’s amp rating is its maximum supply, not a guarantee that your vehicle will charge at that rate.
2
Choose J1772 or NACS Before You Buy
Connector compatibility should narrow the list before features do.
3
Decide Between a Plug and Hardwiring
A NEMA 14-50 plug-in model can be convenient when the home already has a properly installed, compatible outlet in a useful locatio
4
Measure the Route From Charger to Charge Port
Cable length affects where you can park and whether the cable can reach the inlet without stretching across a walkway.
How to choose your home EV charger
1
How we picked
I compared these chargers on the factors that affect daily home charging: rated amperage, connector type, plug-in or har
2
Match Charger Output to Your Vehicle and Panel
A charger’s amp rating is its maximum supply, not a guarantee that your vehicle will charge at that rate.
3
Choose J1772 or NACS Before You Buy
Connector compatibility should narrow the list before features do.
4
Decide Between a Plug and Hardwiring
A NEMA 14-50 plug-in model can be convenient when the home already has a properly installed, compatible outlet in a usef
5
Measure the Route From Charger to Charge Port
Cable length affects where you can park and whether the cable can reach the inlet without stretching across a walkway.
Vetted home EV chargers ·
The best home EV chargers, compared
★ Winner Emporia Pro Level 2 EV Charger
Best Overall for Load Management
15compared
5 yearstop warranty
3connectors

How We Picked

I compared these chargers on the factors that affect daily home charging: rated amperage, connector type, plug-in or hardwired installation, cable length, smart controls, and stated indoor/outdoor suitability. I also looked at how each product’s setup could fit common homes, from a garage with an existing 240V outlet to a dedicated circuit installation. A higher amp rating earns consideration only when it adds useful flexibility; it does not automatically make a charger a better match.

The ranking favors models with a clear balance of capability, compatibility, and practical setup, then assigns more specialized options to the needs they serve best. That puts Emporia’s PowerSmart model ahead for broad use, with hardwired Autel and ChargePoint options serving buyers who prioritize a fixed installation or more output. Plug-in 40A models follow for homes with suitable outlets, while 32A and less-documented smart options suit narrower needs. Product specifications alone cannot confirm compatibility with a specific vehicle, electrical panel, or installation, so I call out those checks rather than treating headline amperage as a universal advantage.

Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Home EV Chargers

Choosing a home charger is less about chasing the highest number and more about matching the charger to your vehicle, electrical supply, parking setup, and charging routine. I’d settle those basics before comparing apps or extra features.

Match Charger Output to Your Vehicle and Panel

A charger’s amp rating is its maximum supply, not a guarantee that your vehicle will charge at that rate. The car’s onboard charger can limit AC charging speed, and the circuit must be sized for the charger’s continuous load. That makes the 80A Autel a specialized option for buyers whose vehicle and electrical installation can use its capacity, rather than a default choice over 48A models. Ask a qualified electrician to review the panel, circuit, and any planned home upgrades before choosing a high-output unit. If your car charges overnight and your panel is constrained, a 32A or 40A model may cover your routine without requiring you to pay for unused capacity. Leave room for future needs only when the vehicle, wiring, and budget make that extra output practical.

Choose J1772 or NACS Before You Buy

Connector compatibility should narrow the list before features do. Most products here use a J1772 connector, while the EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 is the listed NACS option. A vehicle with a different inlet may need an approved adapter, and compatibility can depend on the vehicle and its charging setup. Check the manufacturer’s guidance for the specific car rather than assuming every adapter works in every situation. If you expect to change vehicles, think about which connector is most likely to serve your household over the charger’s useful life. A connector mismatch can turn an otherwise suitable charger into an avoidable hassle.

Decide Between a Plug and Hardwiring

A NEMA 14-50 plug-in model can be convenient when the home already has a properly installed, compatible outlet in a useful location. The plug also makes the charger easier to remove or relocate, but the outlet and circuit still need to be rated for EV charging and installed correctly. Hardwired models such as the Autel and ChargePoint options suit a fixed installation and can support higher-output setups, though installation is less portable and generally calls for electrician work. Do not assume that a dryer or other high-power outlet is suitable just because its shape looks similar. Have an electrician confirm the receptacle, breaker, wiring, and charger requirements before plugging in. The right format depends on the existing electrical work and whether flexibility or a permanent setup matters more.

Measure the Route From Charger to Charge Port

Cable length affects where you can park and whether the cable can reach the inlet without stretching across a walkway. Many listed models have a 25-foot cable, but parking position, wall location, and the side of the vehicle with the charge port can make the same length feel very different. Measure the real route from the proposed mounting point to the vehicle’s charge port, including the path around the bumper if needed. Avoid relying on a tight, straight-line measurement that leaves no slack for everyday parking variation. A longer cable can make a fixed charger easier to use, though it also needs a place to hang safely when idle. For outdoor installations, check the exact model’s environmental rating and installation instructions instead of inferring suitability from a product name.

Treat Smart Features as Useful Extras, Not a Substitute for Fit

Wi-Fi, app controls, RFID access, and energy-management tools can help with scheduling, monitoring, or limiting access, but they do not make a poorly matched charger charge faster. Consider whether the charger will have a reliable network connection where it is mounted and whether app-based control fits your household’s habits. A basic charger may be the cleaner choice if you only need dependable overnight charging and prefer fewer setup steps. Smart controls can matter more when you want to schedule around household energy use or manage access to a shared parking area. Check which functions remain available if the internet connection drops, especially if you rely on app access to start or manage charging. Compare the specific controls offered rather than treating “Wi-Fi” as a complete description of the experience.

Plan for Installation and Future Changes

The charger is only one part of the project: the distance from the panel, wiring route, mounting surface, and local requirements can shape the installation. A plug-in model does not remove the need for a properly rated circuit, and a hardwired model may be a better fit when you are already planning electrical work. Before choosing, get an installation assessment that includes the charger location and the vehicle’s parking pattern, not only a check of panel capacity. If you may move, a plug-in charger can be easier to take along, while a hardwired unit is more tied to its current site. If you are planning to own a different EV later, weigh connector standards and the likely charging limits of that vehicle. A small amount of planning can prevent buying a high-output charger that your home cannot use or a cable setup that does not reach comfortably.

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I choose a 48A charger or a 50A charger?

The difference between a 48A and 50A label alone may not translate into a meaningful speed gain for your particular vehicle. Your car’s onboard AC charging limit and the circuit’s capacity both shape actual charging performance. Compare the installation requirements and features of the specific models, not just their maximum amperage. A 48A charger with useful energy controls may suit you better than a 50A model if your vehicle cannot take advantage of the extra output. Ask an electrician to confirm what your panel and circuit can support before settling on either rating.

Can I plug a NEMA 14-50 charger into an outlet I already have?

Possibly, but the outlet’s presence does not prove it is suitable for routine EV charging. Have an electrician verify the receptacle condition, wiring, breaker, grounding, and circuit rating against the charger’s instructions. The location also needs to work for the cable route and vehicle parking position. Avoid using an extension cord or adapting an incompatible outlet as a workaround. If the existing circuit is not appropriate, a new installation or a hardwired charger may be the safer fit.

Is an 80A home charger worth choosing over a 48A model?

An 80A charger makes sense only when the vehicle can accept that level of AC power and the home installation supports it. Many drivers will not gain faster charging if the car’s onboard charger is the limiting factor. A higher-capacity unit can also call for more electrical work, so compare the full installation needs rather than the charger specification alone. The Autel 80A model is best treated as a specialized choice for compatible vehicles and electrical setups. For typical overnight charging, a 40A or 48A option may be more practical.

Do I need a smart charger if my EV already has charging schedules?

Not necessarily. If your vehicle can schedule charging reliably and you do not need charger-side monitoring or access controls, a simpler model may be enough. Smart charger features can be helpful when you want to manage charging independently of the car, share access, or use energy-management functions. Before paying attention to app features, check whether the charger can connect to Wi-Fi at its intended location and what happens when the connection is unavailable. Choose the controls that solve a real household need rather than treating them as a must-have.

How do I choose between a J1772 charger and the NACS model in this roundup?

Start with the inlet on the vehicle you plan to charge and confirm the charger’s connector matches or can be used with a vehicle-approved adapter. Most options in this roundup are J1772, while the EVIQO EVIPOWER-2 uses NACS. If your household has more than one EV, check connector compatibility for each car and whether adapters are appropriate for your use. Also look at your likely next vehicle before choosing a charger intended to stay installed for years. Confirm the exact compatibility guidance with the vehicle and charger makers, since connector standards and supported charging setups can differ.

Conclusion

For most households, my best overall pick is the Emporia Pro Level 2 with PowerSmart, thanks to its 48A output and energy-management focus. The best value-oriented fit is the EVIQO 40A plug-in charger when you already have a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet and do not need a hardwired installation. For buyers seeking a premium, fixed setup, I’d shortlist the Autel MaxiCharger AC Wallbox 50A or ChargePoint HomeFlex, then compare their installation requirements and controls. Beginners who want a more straightforward route can start with a 40A plug-in J1772 model, provided an electrician confirms the outlet is suitable. For a NACS connector, look at the EVIQO EVIPOWER-2; for an unusually high-capacity setup, consider the 80A Autel only after confirming the vehicle and home wiring can use it. The best choice is the one that matches your car, electrical supply, and parking layout—not simply the highest amp rating.

You May Also Like

15 Best Solar-Powered Backup Batteries in 2026

Discover the top solar-powered backup batteries of 2026. Our guide compares capacity, portability, and features to help you stay powered off-grid.

15 Best EV Fast Chargers for Convenient Home Charging in 2027

Compare 15 Level 2 EV chargers by amperage, connector, installation, cable reach, and features to find the right home charging setup.

10 Best Protein Powders for Weight Loss That Actually Work in 2026

Discover the top protein powders for weight loss in 2026. Find options that support fat burning, curb appetite, and fit your lifestyle and budget.

11 Best Car Covers for Electric SUVs That Offer Superior Protection in 2026

Discover the top car covers for electric SUVs in 2026. Find the best overall, budget-friendly, and premium options to protect your EV from weather and damage.